Advisory Committee

Sarah Bennett Manager, Office of Research Ethics
Simon Fraser University
Dr. Louise Costello Health REB Past Chair
Island Health
Terri Fleming
Manager, Research Compliance and Ethics
Island Health
Pia Ganz
CREB Manager
University of British Columbia
Julie Hadden Manager, Ethical Reviews
Providence Health Care Research Institute
Isobel Hartley Research Ethics Officer
University of Northern British Columbia
Eugenie Lam Human Research Ethics Coordinator
University of Victoria
Jennie Prasad Manager
UBC Children’s & Women’s Research Ethics Board
Sarah Flann Research Ethics and Regulatory Specialist,
Fraser Health
Dorothy Herbert Research Ethics Board Coordinator,
Interior Health
Jean Ruiz Senior Research Ethics Analyst, Behavioural
University of British Columbia
Kristie Westerlaken
REB Manager
BC Cancer

The purpose of the Advisory Committee is to provide expert knowledge, advice and recommendations to support the achievement of the BCEHI priority objectives. Specific attention will be given to:

  • Development and implementation of BC harmonized ethics review models
  • Consideration of technology solutions to support centralized ethics application and review processes

The members of the Advisory Committee have been selected to reflect their ability to represent the partner organizations, the main geographical areas of BC, and key areas of expertise and experience:

  • Geographical regions: North, Interior, Vancouver Island, Lower Mainland
  • Institutional perspectives: health authority, academic and research
  • Roles: REB Chair, REB Administrator
  • Ethics application type: behavioural, clinical, minimal risk, above minimal risk

Advisory Committee members are ambassadors for the BCEHI through communication about the Initiative and its progress.